a tribute from Susan Lindheim
susanlindheim@gmail.com

For more than 40 years, Dr. Herman Blake has been one of my most important mentors.  It all started when I took a course with Drs. Blake and Guzman. I felt so honored when I was asked to be on the planning committee for College Seven. Although I started in Cowell College, I graduated from College Seven in 1973, one of the original 13 – as I remember, the only student who had had family who had previously graduated from college. I have had several graduations since, but none more memorable and important to me.

Through the Extramural Program, I spent a summer in Beaufort helping kids in a summer program.  I had the chance to visit Daufuskie a couple of times and visit the medical clinic that a few students were working in.  I also was able to spend time in Charleston and on St. John’s with Herman’s family and friends. More locally, I also was able to go with Herman to visit the extramural program in North Richmond.  I do not think it is a coincidence that for the last 30 years I have been a pediatrician in the Iron Triangle in Richmond, CA.

Herman, Thank you for all you have given me and so many others.  Thank you for the years of contact, for dinner in New York, for lunch in Berkeley, for the hugs and chats in Santa Cruz.  And thank you for being one of the voices inside me for the last 40, always telling me that no matter how much I give, I get much more in return.

